Home > Metro Detroit > Outdoors > MetroParks
The Huron-Clinton Metropolitan Authority Metroparks is a regional special park district encompassing the counties of Wayne, Oakland, Macomb, Washtenaw and Livingston. It was sanctioned by the Michigan State Legislature in Act No.147 of the Public Acts of 1939, and was approved in 1940.   

The Board of Commissioners held its first meeting in 1941 and began  funding  the Metro-Parks in 1942.The governing body of the HCMA is a seven-member Board of Commissioners.  Two of the members are selected by the governor to represent the district at  large,  and the other five are selected  by the Board of Commissioners from 
each of the five member counties.  The Metro-Parks are funded  principally by a property  tax levy, limited to one-quarter of one mill  (currently the rate is .2236 mills), and by revenues from vehicle entry fees and  other user fees for various facilities such as golf courses.

Currently, 13 Metroparks covering almost 24,000 acres, serve about 9 million visitors annually. The Metroparks are located along the Huron and Clinton rivers, providing a greenbelt around the Detroit metropolitan area. The parks are generally more than 1,000 acres each, with Stony Creek and Kensington being more than 4,300 acres. The Metroparks provide an ever-growing variety of outdoor recreational and educational activities the year round in safe, clean environments. Picnicking, water-related activities, hiking, nature study, biking, golf, winter sports and a host of special outdoor programs and events give the urban population of southeast Michigan a natural respite from their modern, stress-filled world.